Liberty Eyes – my experimental film

I now present the blogosphere debut of Reccalux’s greatest film to date: my experimental collage animation “Liberty Eyes”.

My main stylistic influence was Ken Jacobs.

My film examines colonialism and its aftereffects in Ghana via handpainted movie posters and Nana Agyemang Ofosu’s poem “Virgin Liberty”. It also comments on cultural “dumping”. “Liberty Eyes” screened at the UC Berkeley Pacific Film Archive in 2010 as part of the Film And Video Makers At Cal program “Fleshed Out.”

2 Responses to “Liberty Eyes – my experimental film”

  1. That was a good reading of my poem. The reading was like i was doing it myself. Nice annotations too, but unfortunately i was not contacted before it was used. But hey i loved it very much. Good Job.

Leave a Reply

