So It Goes – Jeeves and Wooster

And now, a new series of humorous writings – “So It Goes.”  Each of these is a humorous treatment of how certain TV shows “always go”….and yes, my dry description here is killing the humor, I fear.  So I’ll get started.  And yes, I might do these in comic form someday, because text is boring.

So It Goes: Jeeves and Wooster

BERTIE WOOSTER, idle riche, is enjoying himself at his gentleman’s club.

Club Worker: Mr. Wooster, one of your rich and annoying female relatives is here to see you.

Bertie: I’m not here.

Club Worker: I already told her that.

Bertie meets with said relative.

Relative: Bertie, you have to fulfill a social obligation that will somehow impinge on your ridiculous amounts of free time.

Bertie: Never!

Relative: I’ll take some of your ridiculously large allowance if you don’t.

Bertie: I’ll do it then.

Bertie is at home in his bachelor pad.  He has just finished playing a jaunty novelty song on the piano.  Jeeves does not understand novelty songs.

Bertie: Jeeves, I have an ingenious plan to weasel out of my social obligation and/or solve a romantic problem of one or more of my good friends and cousins with unusual names.

Jeeves: Indeed, sir.

Bertie: Jeeves, you don’t approve?

Jeeves:……………..

Bertie:……………..

Jeeves: Very well, sir.

Bertie: Pack my bags!

Bertie and Jeeves have arrived at a stately country home, which will provide the setting for Bertie’s antics and failures.

Bertie has just embarrassed himself at dinner.

Bertie: What did I say that was wrong, Jeeves?  I thought I was very witty.

Jeeves: Indeed, sir.

Bertie: Well, nothing can interfere with my masterly plan which cannot possibly go wrong, seeing as it relies upon doing things in pitch-black darkness where I might mistake someone’s identity, and upon my having figured out exactly and precisely what everybody is thinking……

Jeeves: ……..Very good, sir.  Might I suggest instead that you do the much simpler thing and….

Jeeves outlines his much more sensible alternative.

Bertie: Don’t be silly, Jeeves.  My idea is foolproof.

Jeeves: Very good, sir.

Later that night, Bertie’s plan has spectacularly failed, yet Jeeves has come to his rescue somehow.  And everybody in the TV audience wonders how our young fool was saved.

Bertie: My God, Jeeves, how did you pull that one off?

Jeeves: Well, sir…..

Jeeves outlines his impeccably perfect plan for saving Bertie’s ass.

Bertie: I am so glad I hired you.

Jeeves: Indeed sir, perhaps I might perform some domestic chore for you?

Bertie: Go ahead.

-END-

This is actually one of my favorite shows.  I think the chemistry between Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie is just unbeatable.  Nonetheless, the formula is fun to poke fun at 😀

Leave a Reply

