Ace Attorney 4 (Apollo Justice) musings

**Note: you might want to read my reviews of the first three Ace Attorney games: Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney, Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney: Justice for All, and Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney: Trials and Tribulations.**

And so, my friends, I came to the end of the Phoenix Wright era of the Ace Attorney series and began the first DS-exclusive, new-character-led fourth game, Apollo Justice: Ace Attorney.  So here follow my semi-organized thoughts (positive and negative), musings, and random observations for your reading pleasure.

  • New main character!  I was a little upset to see Phoenix go, to tell you the truth.  And a little weirded-out to see him turn into a hobo piano-player and “daddy.”  Speaking of which, before I found out the “truth” about Trucy, I was like “daughter?  Maya’s? No, that can’t be!”  I think we would have gotten bored with too much Phoenix, and the writers might have eventually worn him out.  And besides, he’s still in the game.
  • Graphics! And GRAPHICS?! This being the first DS-exclusive, only-for-DS-from-its-outset title, the videos, animation, graphics / graphics’ quality (and music and sound quality) are great.  However, in some of the “flashback” cases, the graphics (and old sounds) are from the old games, and are noticeably lacking in quality.  I KNOW Capcom has better quality versions of these graphics because they use them for animated videos at the Tokyo Game Show.  Was it REALLY that hard to remaster the graphics?  I mean, you’re already being lazy by recycling, so can you at least make it blend in with the newer character graphics?  I know this is a minor issue, but it really got on my nerves for a bit.  It didn’t destroy my overall enjoyment of the game, but the disconnect was annoying.
  • Music – again, this series has GREAT music.  And there is even a music-centric case in this game, which deals with a backstage murder during a rock concert put on by your rival prosecutor’s all-lawyers-and-police band and a guest star.  It was quite fun, and I did enjoy the song, “Guitar’s Serenade.”
  • The Gavin Brothers – I remember a fangirlish friend of mine once telling me something like “Just wait ’til you get to the 4th game and get to see this gorgeous hunk of man-meat *drools, attaches picture of Klavier Gavin to email*”  Not that I feel the same way, but I do think the Gavin brothers are quite interesting characters.  Oh, more German child prodigies to add to the mix (say what you will about stereotypes of Germans but remember that in the original version they were AMERICAN!)  I had an ongoing joke with a friend about breaking Kristoph Gavin out of prison….until I got to the last case and *SPOILER ALERT*found out what an evil bastard he was.  So, here follows Recca’s joke comics, lifted from a certain social networking site’s doodle application.

kristoph1

the fate of the unused file cake.

the fate of the unused file cake.

all comics (c) 2008-9 Recca Phoenix.

all Phoenix Wright characters and games are (c) Capcom.  This is a review and parody.

Leave a Reply

